Outstanding Staff

This year's recipients of the Outstanding Staff Award, the highest honor given to campus staff members, are: Robert Botzheim, detective/investigator with University Police; Dale Coddington, security analyst in Information Technology; and Giulii Kraemer, program coordinator for the Guardian Scholars Program.

Achieving Educational Goals

Higher education degrees have been earned by staff members, including Kandy Mink Salas, Lea Jarnagin, Dina Bartoloni, Kerry Belvill, Sandra Boulanger, Vicki Brewster, Elizabeth Buchanan, Debra Bush, Jennifer Chung, Linda Dominguez, Eydie Esgana, Robin Graboyes, Markelle Gray, Gaby Guzman, Joseph Hackbarth, Stephan Lewicki, Sun Lim and Anh Nelson.

Quinn's Presidency

Brian Quinn, Cal State Fullerton’s director of athletics, has become president of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics, Division 1-AAA.

Bond's Presidency

Jay Bond, associate vice president for facilities management at Cal State Fullerton, has been elected president of the Association of University Architects.

Managing More than Meals

Uthai Thiranop, Titan Student Union's food court manager, saved a neighbor whose back was on fire when her house went up in flames last summer. Today, after helping spruce up her rebuilt house, he's welcoming her home.

Safe and Cost Efficient

By discovering and using an alternative method for collecting waste, two members of the Office of Environmental Health and Instructional Safety — Curtis Plotkin and Leo Lopez — found a way to save Cal State Fullerton more than $100,000.

International Pillar

Howard Wang, associate vice president for student affairs, has been named a “Pillar of the Profession” by NASPA, a Washington D.C.-based organization of student affairs administrators. He was selected for “extraordinary service to the profession.”

Mentor Extraordinaire

Kandy Mink Salas, dean of students, recognized across campus as an institutional leader, role model and accomplished student affairs professional, is the recipient of the the Region VI 2009 Sandra Kuchler Excellence in Mentoring Award.

Rewarding Integrity

For her commitment to helping students develop personal ethics, as well as inspiring those she serves, Giulii Kraemer, Guardian Scholars coordinator, recently received the 2009 Leaders of Integrity Award from the Orange County-based Passkeys Foundation’s Ethical Edge.

Serving the Disabled

Paul K. Miller, director of the university’s disabled student services, is presiding as chair of Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger's California Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities.

Tops in Her Field

Milly Heaton, director of development for the College of the Arts, received the 2009 Outstanding Fundraising Professional Award by the Orange County Chapter of Association of Fundraising Professionals.

Honoring Dedication

Staff members who have hit milestones in their years of service to Cal State Fullerton have been recognized. They include 40-year CSUF employees Barbara Hooper and Joan Monteverde and 35-year employees Terry Bohannon, Elizabeth Gibbs and Louisa “Lisa” James.