California State University, Fullerton

A-Z Index

CSUF Home   »   INSIDE

This 2010-11 Academic senate executive board are, from left, front row, Kristi Kanel, Reyes Fidalgo, Stephen J. Stambough and Jonathan S. Taylor; back row, Jon C. Bruschke, Willie J. Hagan, Diana Guerin, Zvi Drezner and Scott Hewitt. Photo by Karen Tapia

Faculty Leader

Diana Guerin Elected New Chair of Academic Senate

May 25, 2010

By Pamela McLaren

Diana W. Guerin, a veteran professor of child and adolescent studies and Cal State Fullerton alumna, has been elected chair of the 2010-11 Academic Senate.

Diana Guerin, 2010-11 Academic Senate Chair

This will be the third time that Guerin (M.A. psychology ’80) serves as the head of the faculty advisory body of which she has been a member since 2000. She previously served as chair in 2006-07 and 2007-08. Guerin also has served as the organization’s secretary and editor of its publication, Senate Forum, and been a member of the statewide California State University Academic Senate since 2004. She was secretary for the statewide organization during the current academic year and was re-elected to serve in the same position for 2010-11.

“Scott (Hewitt, the 2009-10 senate chair) has done a great job of leading us through challenging times these past two years. We will need to continue working together to provide the best education possible to our students and make Cal State Fullerton an even better university,” said Guerin.

Last year, Guerin was honored with the Faculty Leadership in Collegial Governance Award, which recognizes faculty members who have made significant contributions to collegial governance and the mission of the CSU.

She served on the university’s most recent steering committee for reaccreditation by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges. The committee oversees the university’s efforts in preparing for review by the national association.

A member of the faculty since 1988, Guerin has served as chair of the Child and Adolescent Studies Department and department academic adviser. She has been a member on the university’s Instructional Technology, Professional Leaves and Faculty Personnel committees and in 2000, served as an external reviewer to Cal State Bakersfield and Chico State's Child Development Programs.

Guerin serves as co-director of the Fullerton Longitudinal Study, a long-term investigation charting the development of more than 100 children and their families from the child's first birthday through their current age of 29. Guerin first became involved with the internationally recognized and widely cited study as a graduate student.

In addition, Guerin has co-authored more than two dozen articles, book chapters and books; presented more than 70 research papers or posters, has served as president of the Orange County Association for the Education of Young Children and was a member of the state association’s board of directors.

The Fullerton resident’s research interests include children’s temperament, intellectual giftedness and child safety. In addition to her master’s degree from Cal State Fullerton, Guerin also holds a master’s degree and doctorate in psychology from UCLA.

Joining Guerin on the Academic Senate Executive Committee for 2010-11 are:

  • Vice Chair Stephen J. Stambough of Yorba Linda, associate professor of political science
  • Secretary Kristi L. Kanel of Placentia, professor of human services
  • Treasurer Willie J. Hagan of Anaheim Hills, vice president, administration and finance/chief financial officer

Members-at-large are:

  • Jonathan S. Taylor of Fullerton, associate professor of geography
  • Jon C. Bruschke of Placentia, professor of human communication studies
  • Zvi Drezner of Anaheim, professor of information systems and decision sciences

Serving on the statewide Academic Senate, in addition to Guerin, are:

  • Barry A. Pasternack of Santa Ana, chair and professor of information systems and decision sciences
  • Reyes Fidalgo of Fullerton, professor of Spanish
Back to Top