California State University, Fullerton

A-Z Index

CSUF Home   »   INSIDE

2010 Incoming President's Scholars
Top (from left to right): Chelsea Bennett, Cassandra Carpenter, Tiffany Hsueh, Lucas Kinney and Alexandra Lithgow
Bottom: Asha Mada, Danette Salas, Heather Schoch, Jason Sterris and David Wooding

New Class of Top Students

Cal State Fullerton Welcomes 10 New President's Scholars

July 10, 2010

This fall, 10 incoming freshmen will join Cal State Fullerton’s most prestigious program for students demonstrating high academic achievement, leadership and community service.

Recent top graduates of state and regional high schools, they are the latest members of the university’s President’s Scholars Program, a program established in 1979 to recognize and attract a distinguished group of academically accomplished students. Based solely on merit, the scholars program offers a variety of benefits, including a four-year scholarship that covers enrollment fees and a book allowance.

Scholars have the opportunity to participate in undergraduate research, partner with faculty in their major and participate in campus leadership and community activities. Scholars also have the opportunity to periodically meet with the university’s President Milton A. Gordon and attend university events.

A total of 68 students are President’s Scholars, including the incoming freshmen, for the 2010-11 academic year.

The incoming President’s Scholars, by cities of residence and major, are:
• Chelsea Bennett of Corona, child and adolescent studies
• Cassandra Carpenter of Long Beach, biological science
• Tiffany Hsueh of Yorba Linda, prebusiness
• Lucas Kinney of Whittier, prebusiness
• Alexandra Lithgow of Huntington Beach, communicative disorders
• Asha Mada of Corona, biological science
• Danette Salas of Buena Park, communicative disorders
• Heather Schoch of Galt, psychology
• Jason Sterris of Azusa, mathematics
• David Wooding of Menifee, prebusiness

For more information, visit

Back to Top