California State University, Fullerton

A-Z Index

CSUF Home   »   INSIDE
Save Me a Seat Campaign

Save Me a Seat

Campaign for College Opportunity Honors Students and Educational Leaders

July 30, 2007

Cal State Fullerton joined the Campaign for College Opportunity program recently honored 20 middle and high school students, as well as three educational leaders, during a special reception held last week.

The students were scholarship winners in an essay, poster and radio/TV ad contest in which their entries answered the question “Why should California leaders save you and your peers a spot in college?”

More than 8,000 students from throughout the state competed in the contest and more than 100 were honored at regional receptions like the one at Cal State Fullerton July 26.

A total of $100,000 in scholarships was awarded by the nonprofit group co-founded by the California Business Roundtable, the Mexican American Legal defense and Educational Fund and the Community College League of California.

Silas H. Abrego, associate vice president for student affairs, welcomed the honorees, stressing that the goals of the university and the Campaign for College Opportunity are the same: ensuring that the next generation of college age students in California has every opportunity to pursue their educational goals.

“Here at Fullerton, we understand the value of education and what it means for the social and economic well being of the state,” Abrego said. “Too many of our young people today have few choices to make in their life. Education opens so many possibilities for you. It especially will allow you to pursue your dreams.”

The Campaign for College Opportunity also recognized  Bill Habermehl, superintendent of the Orange County Department of Education; Sara Lundquist, vice president for student services at Santa Ana College; and Dale Ward, executive vice president of the Santa Ana Chamber of Commerce.

Orange County student scholarship recipients are:
• Ramneet Ahluwalia, written word, $500, 7th grade, Walker Junior High
• Erin Barlow, written word, $500, 6th grade, Abraham Lincoln Middle School
• Monica Benavides, written word, $500, 11th grade, Capistrano Valley High
• Ana Castillo, written word, $1,000, 9th grade, Capistrano Valley High
• Kevin Cha, written word, $500, 7th grade, Alamitos Intermediate School
• Uriel Flores, TV ad, $1,000, 9th grade, Savanna High
• Patzi Garcia, written word, $500, 10th grade, Orange High School
• Fermin Gomez, written word, $500, 10th grade, Capistrano Valley High School
• Ariel Gonzales, TV ad, $500, 12th grade, Aliso Niguel High
• Emani Harris, written word, $500, 7th grade, Abraham Lincoln Middle School
• Mike Jensen, TV ad, $1,000, 9th grade, Capistrano Valley High
• Victoria Lee, radio ad, $500, 10th grade, Fountain Valley High
• Dominique Lewis, written word, $1,000, 8th grade, Abraham Lincoln Middle School
• Danielle Mitrak, written word, $500, 8th grade
• Lynn Pham, poster, $1,000, 12th grade, Los Amigos High
• Dulce Rosas, written word, $500, 8th grade, Abraham Lincoln Middle School
• Aidan Shimmin, Poster, $500, 8th grade, Portola Middle School
• Madelyn Smith, Poster, $500, 11th grade, Dana Hills High
• Madison Sudakoff, Poster, $1,000, 8th grade, Shore Cliffs Middle School

Back to Top