California State University, Fullerton

A-Z Index

CSUF Home   »   INSIDE

President Hosts Dinner

Campus Honors Retiring Faculty, Staff Members

July 2, 2007

By Pam McLaren

Cal State Fullerton recognized retiring faculty and staff members for their years of service during a special retirement dinner hosted by President Milton A. Gordon at El Dorado Ranch.

Among the faculty members feted was 36-year campus veteran Harris Shultz, professor of mathematics. Also honored were Gerald P. Hannes, professor of geography, who has taught at Cal State Fullerton for 35 years; David Grimes, lecturer in music, with the university for 34 years; John A. Lawrence, professor of information systems and decision sciences, who joined the university in 1973; Ashley Bishop, professor of elementary and bilingual education, and William B. Lau, professor of information systems and decision sciences, since 1976; and Shu-Jen Chen, professor of information systems and decision sciences, who has taught on campus since 1978.

Among the long-time staff members recognized was 37-year veteran Carolyn Wilson, library assistant in the Pollak Library, and Donald McLaren, equipment technician in Radio-TV-Film; Terry Roberts, director of interactive televised instruction in University Extended Education, a campus member since 1973; and Kathleen Walker, staff assistant to the chief, Budget Planning and Strategy, who has served on campus since 1977.

Also honored were: Anna L. Ahrens-Hogan, administrative support assistant, Geological Sciences;
Barbara Barrett, director of corporate and foundation relations, University Advancement; Judy Byrnes, special events coordinator, President’s Office; Charlene Carr, senior research analyst, Institutional Research and Analytical Studies; Barbara Clark, lecturer in elementary and bilingual education; Linda Cooper, administrative support coordinator, Academic Programs; Delores Davis, administrative support assistant, Admissions and Records; Richard D. Defina, instructional support technician, Art; and Alicia DeGuzman, accountant, Administration and Finance;

Carol Ebbett, administrative support coordinator, Physics; Maria Elenbaas, credential analyst, Education; Bruce Erickson, associate vice president, University Communications and Marketing; Vivian Fears, registered nurse, Student Health and Counseling Center; Thomas Gehrls, operations lieutenant, University Police;  Seyedabbas Hanizavareh, associate professor of information systems and decision sciences; Phyllis Harn, administrative support coordinator, Electrical Engineering; Lynn Henning, lecturer in human services; Mary B. Huer, professor of human communication studies; and  Leanna Ishibashi, administrative support coordinator, Academic Affairs;

Mary Jacobson, senior director of strategic planning and board relations, University Advancement; Mary L. Joyce, Harry Gianneschi professor of nonprofit marketing; Richard Judy, lecturer in mathematics; John Kaiser, administrative analyst/specialist, Housing and Residential Life; Dewan Karim, lecturer in management; C. Jane Kirk, administrative support coordinator, Biological Science;  
Deborah Lawrence, associate professor of English and comparative literature; Nachiko Lee, lecturer in modern languages and literatures; Terry Lee, administrative analyst/specialist, Education; Lance Leuthesser, professor of marketing; Cheryl Liberty, administrative support analyst, Academic Programs; and Judith Lindemann, nurse practitioner, Student Health and Counseling Center;

Alex C. Mackenzie, associate professor of theatre and dance; Ileana Masoucos-Hurtado, administrative support coordinator; Health and Human Development; Elizabeth McCallister, administrative support assistant, University Extended Education;

Joan Melton, professor of theatre and dance; Gail Mikkelsen, administrative support assistant, Student Health and Counseling Center; Renee Miller, speech pathologist, Human Communication Studies; Mohsen Mirshafiei, associate professor of English and comparative literature; Sherri Newcomb, chief of budget planning and strategy; Craig Newton, chief engineer, Physical Plant; Heizaburo Okawa, head coach – fencing; Elaine Okazaki, administrative support coordinator, Public Affairs and Government Relations; and Robert Ortiz, associate professor of special education.

Zena Pearlstone, associate professor of art; William Phillips, lecturer in history; Armando Ramirez, warehouse worker, Physical Plant; Raymond Reyes, lecturer in Chicana and Chicano studies; Kirk Richards, equipment technician, Mechanical Engineering;  

Nancy Riedel, administrative support coordinator, International Education and Exchange; Norman Rosen, lecturer in anthropology;  Michelle Rosenthal, office coordinator, Financial Aid, CSUF Irvine Campus; Martin Smith, senior planner, Physical Plant;  Rosalinda Sotelo, custodian, Housing and Resident Life; and Cynthia Thacker, administrative support coordinator, Philosophy.

Gayle Vogt, lecturer in business writing; Valarie Watkins, administrative support assistant, Admissions and Records; Sylvia Wilber, administrative support assistant, Theatre and Dance; Margaret Yasutake, library assistant, Pollak Library; and Janice Young, administrative analyst/specialist, Accounts Payable.

Back to Top