Pasternack Elected to Statewide Position

Barry A. Pasternack, chair and professor of management systems and decision sciences, was recently elected to serve as vice chair of the California State University Academic Senate.

A member of the CSUF faculty since 1977, Pasternack has served on the campus academic senate since 1989 and the statewide senate since 1996. He has been a member of several CSU committees, including those dealing with honorary degrees, year-round operations, and fiscal and governmental affairs. Since 1997, he has been a member of the CSU Commission on Institutional Management and Information Technology and served on the Committee on Student-Friendly Services Through Technology, as well as the California Education Technology Initiative Infrastructure Task Force.

On the campus level, he has served as secretary, treasurer and a member of the executive committee of the faculty advisory body. Pasternack has been a member of university committees dealing with university advancement, bookstore operations, extended education, computing affairs and research. Department chair since 1995, Pasternack also led the College of Business Academic Senate for two terms in the 1980s, served as president of the Fullerton Chapter of the California Faculty Association from 1989 to 1994 and 1995 to 1996, and was on the CFA statewide board of directors for three years.

Pasternack has co-authored a number of publications, including the 1998 book “Applied Management Science: A Computer-Integrated Managerial Approach.” Articles he has written have appeared in Marketing Science, Business to Business and Naval Research Logistics.

The CSU Academic Senate is made up of elected academic senators representing the 23 campuses of the CSU. It was formed in 1963 to serve as an advisory group to the CSU chancellor and board of trustees. Heading the group for 2006-07 is Marshelle Thobaben, professor of nursing at Humboldt State University. Secretary is Marshall Cates, professor of mathematics at CSU Los Angeles.