California State University, Fullerton

A-Z Index

CSUF Home   »   INSIDE

President Milton A. Gordon, center, congratulates faculty and staff members who have served the university and are now retiring. Photo by Patrick O’Donnell

University Honors Faculty and Staff Retirees

Long-Serving Deans are Among Those Recognized

June 9, 2009

Jerry D. Samuelson

On behalf of Cal State Fullerton, President Milton A. Gordon hosted faculty and staff members during a special May retirement dinner at El Dorado Ranch. The university’s executive management also was on hand to honor those whose service to Fullerton ranged beyond 40 years.

Among those honored were: Jerry D. Samuelson, dean of the College of the Arts, who joined the university in 1962; Marjorie O. Tussing, professor of modern languages and literatures, who came to campus in 1965+; and Jesa H. Kreiner, professor of mechanical engineering, a member of the campus since 1969+.

Thomas P. Klammer, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, joined the university in 1971; Ann Hopkins, executive assistant, Marketing and Business Communications, came in 1972; Dick Bednar, senior director of telecommunications in Information Technology, became a member of the campus community in 1973, Thomas M. Apke, professor of management, came to Fullerton in 1974+; and Jay Jimenez, director of information services in Mihaylo College of Business and Economics, came to Cal State Fullerton in 1975.

Thomas P. Klammer

Joining the campus in 1976 were: Keith Boyum, emeritus professor of political science; Nicholas R. Farnum, professor of information systems and decisions sciences+; John G. Pierce, professor of mathematics; Pamela Migliore, graduate studies specialist in Academic Programs+; and James Powell, emeritus web design and support director in Information Technology. Joanne Gass, professor of English, comparative literature and linguistics, and Susan Lasswell, director of organizational development, Administration and Finance, joined the campus in 1977, as did Rudy Miranda, lead locksmith. One year later, in 1978, Joann C. Carter-Wells, professor of reading and coordinator of the Instructional Design and Technology program, became a member of the faculty+, John R. Erickson, chair and professor of finance+, and Gaye Rogers, accountant, Administration and Finance, both came on board in 1979.

Also honored were:

Theresa Grantham, student personnel technician, Financial Aid; Susan Kachner, director of administrative computing, Information Technology; and Daniel W. Kee, chair and professor of psychology, who all joined in 1980

James Morris, operations specialist, Information Technology, a member of the campus since 1981

Gamini D. Gunawardane, professor of management+; and Gregory Nicholson, custodian, Physical Plant, both in 1982

George S. Lin, professor of civil and environmental engineering; Fran Zara Smith, director, University Learning Center; and Deborah Wiedeman, assistant budget analyst, Physical Plant, 1983

Ishwarlal Mistry, building service engineer, Physical Plant, 1984

Maryalyce Jeremiah, head coach, women’s basketball; Judy Billedeaux, counselor in financial aid; Margaret Bloom, administrative support assistant in admissions and records; and Linda Purpura, administrative support assistant, Student Health and Counseling Center, 1985

Susan G. Shipstead, lecturer in child and adolescent studies, and Dolores H. Vura, assistant vice president, Institutional Research and Analytical Studies, 1986

Mark Runco, professor of child and adolescent studies, 1987

Elizabeth Champion, public relations and marketing director, College of the Arts; Su H. Chan, professor of finance; Kathleen McFarlane, lecturer in art; and John Powers, lecturer in English, comparative literature and linguistics, 1988

Helen P. Taylor, professor of secondary education+; Leslie Richards, lecturer in kinesiology; and Ko Wang, professor of finance, 1989

June Havlena, lecturer in psychology; Barbara Hoke, administrative support coordinator in Health Professions; Gerald B. Hoth, professor of accounting; and Brenda H. Spencer, professor of elementary and bilingual education, 1990

Luis Paladines, operations specialist in Information Technology, 1991

Theodore Cramer, lecturer in management, and Deborah McCracken, director of financial aid, 1993

Jerome Atkin, lecturer in secondary education; Irene Duncan, administrative support assistant in Environmental Health and Instructional Safety; and Alexander Landeros, operating systems analyst, Information Technology, 1995

John Olmsted, lecturer in anthropology, and Sinara Sok, lead custodian, Physical Plant, 1996

Ann Sciortino, associate director in financial aid; and Evelyn M. Weisman, professor of elementary and bilingual education,1997

Ernest Bridges, lecturer in Afro-ethnic studies, and Barbara Green, administrative support coordinator, Afro-ethnic studies, 1998

Paula L. Herberg, chair and associate professor of nursing, 2000+

Irene Freer, administrative assist to the dean of University Extended Education, 2001

Marcia Harrison, director of development, Mihaylo College of Business and Economics; and Joan Spangler, lecturer, English, comparative literature and linguistics, 2002

Michael Ferrall, lecturer in political science, 2003

Marie Johnstone and David Laquay, both lecturers in Cal State Teach, 2004

Gary Christensen, lecturer in theatre and dance, 2005

Alexandra Flecky, lecturer in human communication studies; and Georgia Menges, lecturer in educational leadership, 2005

+ Faculty members who are taking part in the Faculty Early Retirement Program (FERP).

Back to Top