CSUF News and Information
News Front
Browse by Topic
University News
Awards & Honors
CSUF in the News
In the Community
Titan Sports
Calendars & Events
Faculty Experts Guide
News Photos
News Contacts
Press Kit
Faculty / Staff Directory
Image Library
Get News by E-mail
Contact Info


University News

Incoming Class of President’s Scholars Arriving at Cal State Fullerton


August 21, 2003 :: No. 23

This month, 22 of the region’s best-and-brightest graduating high school seniors will enter Cal State Fullerton as President’s Scholars — the most prestigious status the university accords to incoming students.

“This had to be the most difficult year choosing President’s Scholars because of the increased caliber of academic, community service and leadership backgrounds evident in the pool of 575 applicants,” noted James Mettler, director of the President’s Scholars Program. “This year’s incoming scholars mean GPA was 4.22,” he added.

Established in 1979, the President’s Scholars program recognizes and attracts a distinguished group of academically accomplished students. In addition to the use of laptop computers, these incoming freshmen receive a full scholarship that covers all student fees and a $750 annual stipend for textbooks up to four years, so long as they are enrolled full time, maintain a 3.5 grade-point average, and contribute to university and community activities.

All scholars are granted automatic admission to the university Honors Program, priority registration, complimentary parking permits and consideration for on-campus housing. They also have opportunities to attend special seminars and meet periodically with the university president.

Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and extracurricular achievement in high school.

The incoming President’s Scholars, by cities of residence and major, are:

Anaheim Barbara Koelker of Cornelia Connelly High School, radio-TV-film
Chino Hills Keith Rogers of Ayala High School, art
Cypress Jessica Van Hoven of Cypress High School, mathematics
Downey Lonna Dayhoff of Warren High School, business administration
Fullerton Andrew Selman of Sunny Hills High School, undeclared
Garden Grove Duncan Schultz of Pacifica High School, music
Glendora Ingrid Carlson of Glendora High School, biological science
Hacienda Heights Lidia Lopez of Glen Wilson High School, undeclared
Hesperia Heather Williams of Sultana High School, art
Huntington Beach Kevin Johnston of Edison High School, music
Irvine Diane Schulz of Northwood High School, art
La Verne Stacy Bouchard of Bonita High School, political science
Menifee Kathleen McKenzie of Elsinore High School, economics
Mission Viejo Caitlyn Morgigno of Mission Viejo High School, kinesiology
Morino Valley Ashley Kiefer of Valley View High School, mathematics
Newbury Park Alison Friedman of Newbury Park High School, theatre arts
Placentia Kathryn Hutchinson of Valencia High School, speech communication
Riverside Michelle O’Donnell of Rubidoux High School, business administration
San Diego Christopher Allison of Rancho Bernardo High School, art
Ryan Gerrish of Mission Bay High School, art
Stockton Jenson Jamie of Linden High School, undeclared
Ventura Bailey Aldrich of Ventura High School, undeclared

Community members who served on the 25-member screening committee include Peggy Hammer of Placentia, Verne Wagner and Helena Schwartz of Fullerton, and Donna Geer of Upland. The committee was chaired by Lorraine E. Prinsky, professor of sociology.

Media Contacts: James Mettler at 657-278-7418 or jmettler@fullerton.edu
Susan Katsaros of Public Affairs at 657-278-4854 or skatsaros@fullerton.edu

« back to University News



Go View News by Date
Browse 2003
Browse 2002
Go top

Produced by the Office of Public Affairs at California State University, Fullerton. Contact the web administrator for comments and problems with the website.
California State University, Fullerton 2003. All Rights Reserved.