Titans Make Big News in Big West All-Conference

Cutley Tabbed Co-Player of the Year, Chow is Freshman of the Year

March 18, 2008

Titan senior forward Scott Cutley has been selected Co-Player of the Year in the Big West Conference along with Alex Harris of UC Santa Barbara. Women’s freshman guard Lauren Chow was named the Conference’s Freshman of the Year.

Junior Toni Thomas and freshman Ashley Richie also nabbed conference laurels. Thomas was named to the All-Big West First Team for the second consecutive season; Richie joined Chow as a part of the All-Freshman and All-Big West Honorable Mention squads.

Cutley joins Greg Bunch as the only Division I men's basketball conference players of the year at Fullerton. Bunch was a co-player in 1976 with Steve Copp of San Diego State.

Cutley, a communications major, served as team co-caption and was one of the dominant players in the Big West Conference.

The rest of the first team was Patrick Sanders of UC Irvine, Donovan Morris of Long Beach State, Steffan Johnson of Pacific and Jonathan Heard of Cal State Northridge. The rest of the second team was Deon Tresvant and Tremaine Townsend of Cal State Northridge and Darren Fells of UC Irvine.

Honorable mention went to Chad Troyer and Anthony Brown of Pacific, James Powell, Ivan Elliott and Chris Devine of UCSB; Larry Cunningham of UC Riverside; Josh Jenkins and Calvin Chitwood of CSUN and Trae Clark of Cal Poly.

Chow is the second Titan in the last three seasons to be named the league’s top freshman, joining teammate Thomas who won in 2005-06. She is the fourth Titan to earn Big West Freshman of the Year honors and becomes one of 13 players in school history to be named to the all-freshman team.

Teammate Thomas is the only repeat selection to the All-Big West First Team in 2007-08. She ranks among the league’s best in field goal percentage, free throw percentages, blocks and minutes played. She is the only the third women’s player in Titan history to earn first-team honors in back-to-back seasons and joins former Titan greats Eugenia Miller-Rycraw and Shayla Bradshaw as the only Fullerton players to be honored on the all-conference teams three times in their careers.


Back to Top