Cal State Fullerton News California State University, Fullerton
Public Affairs
800 N. State College Blvd. Fullerton, CA 92632
657-278-2414 Fax 657-278-5226



From Dateline (April 22, 2004)

PRBC Works for Campus Fiscal Well-Being

At a time when funding for public higher education is targeted for further erosion statewide, individual campuses are facing tough decisions about their futures.

At Fullerton, the Academic Senate’s Planning, Resource and Budget Committee (PRBC) is a key forum for campus discussions to help shape budget decisions ultimately made by the university president.

Strategies to bolster the university’s fiscal health and well-being are developed and debated by the committee, whose members include representatives from the faculty and staff, vice presidents and other administrators, as well as students.

The PRBC annually reviews the university’s budget, making recommendations on priorities, proposed allocations, and mission and goals initiatives. The PRBC also analyzes new course proposals and changes in existing academic programs with respect to resource implications. The committee meets semimonthly throughout the academic year and weekly in the spring as the annual May revise to the proposed state budget approaches.

Included in the budget ultimately adopted by the Legislature is the allocation for the California State University, derived from a recommended budget submitted by CSU Trustees. Funding for each campus is based on enrollment targets.

At Fullerton, budget decisions are made following a consultative process that includes the PRBC, Deans Council and President’s Administrative Board, among others. Discussions within departments, divisions and colleges continue throughout the year, providing a foundation for decision-

Members of the PRBC for 2003-04 are: Chair James F. Woodward, professor of history; Judith A. Anderson, executive vice president; Carol Bednar, chair of technical services and government documents coordinator for the Pollak Library; Renae M. Bredin, associate professor of women’s studies; Carmen Z. Dunlap, chair and professor of elementary and bilingual education; David R. Falconer, associate professor of computer science; President Milton A. Gordon; Diana Guerin, professor of child and adolescent studies; Willie Hagan, vice president for administration; Susan Hallman, chair and professor of theatre and dance; Pamela Hillman, vice president for university advancement; Wayne K. Hobson, professor of American studies; Lea M. Jarnagin, associate dean, new student programs; Samanaz Kapadia, senior business administration major; Sherri Newcomb, chief financial officer; Ginny Pace, director of community affairs, College of Business and Economics; Robert L. Palmer Jr., vice president for student affairs; Michael C. Parker, chief information technology officer; Mark H. Shapiro, professor of physics; Ephraim P. Smith, vice president for academic affairs; Mark D. Stohs, professor of finance; and Diane F. Witmer; professor of communications.

The PRBC was formed in October 1998 by combining the Academic Senate’s former Long Range Planning and Priorities Committee and Budget Advisory Committee.