Cal State Fullerton News and Information
  CSUF Home   |   About CSUF   |   Academics   |   Administration   |   Students   |   Future Students   |   Alumni   |   Visitors
  News:   Home  |   Archive  |   Calendar & Events   |   Arts  |   Athletics  |   Photo Gallery   |
Cal State Fullerton Welcomes 20 New President's Scholars
New incoming President's Scholars
New incoming President's Scholars
Incoming Class Represents Region's Top High School Seniors

August, 21, 2007 :: No. 22

Twenty of the region’s top high school seniors join Cal State Fullerton this fall as President’s Scholars — the most prestigious status the university accords to incoming students.

Established in 1979, the program recognizes the achievements of outstanding freshmen who have demonstrated excellence in academics, leadership and community service. The students receive a full scholarship for up to four years of study, a $750 stipend for textbooks each year and use of a Dell laptop computer. Students are required to remain enrolled full time, maintain a 3.5 grade-point average, and participate in university and community activities.

All scholars are granted automatic admission to the university Honors Program, complimentary parking permits, priority registration for classes and priority consideration for on-campus housing. Scholars also are given opportunities to meet periodically with the university president and attend special seminars.

Community members who served on the 20-member screening committee that helped select this year’s group of scholars include alumnae Peggy Hammer of Placentia, Dianne Ramos of Cerritos and Verne Wagner of Fullerton. Lawrence Jasper, professor of theatre and dance, chaired the committee.

The incoming President’s Scholars, by hometown, high school and major, are:
Corinne Sandhoefner of Oxford Academy, communicative disorders

Apple Valley:
Laura Johnson of Apple Valley High School, theatre arts
Talia Tran of Apple Valley High School, mathematics

Joseph Hill or Brea Olinda High School, theatre arts
Brian Norris of Brea Olinda High School, computer engineering

Buena Park:
Cristian Bueno-Correa of Buena Park High School, mathematics

Chino Hills:
Michael Donohue of Chino Hills High School, music

Bryce Renfeldt of Sanatiago High School, biological science

Russell Argenal of Rialto High School, undeclared

Fountain Valley:
Jason Takahashi of Fountain Valley High School, undeclared

La Puente:
Geovanny Castro of Nogales High School, business administration

Lake Elsinore:
Jamie Sanders of El Modena High School, chemistry

Elizabeth Holcomb of Paraclete High School, liberal studies

Jennifer Pham of El Modena High School, business administration

Carlos Hernandez of Ramona High School, liberal studies
Katherine Runyan of Ramona High School, liberal studies

Cassandra Horn of Walnut High School, undeclared

Jonathan Davis of Sonora High School, kinesiology
Alysha Hernandez of Whittier High School, English

Jennifer Tarnowski of Elsinore High School, geology


Media Contacts:

James Mettler, President’s Scholars, 657-278-7418 or
Gail Matsunaga, Public Affairs, 657-278-4851 or

« back to News Front

President's Scholars Program
Browse Archive
By Date
News Services
eNews Subscribe to eNews
XML Add RSS Headlines
Live Bookmarks Live Bookmarks
Go to... Top

Cal State Fullerton Produced by the Office of Public Affairs at California State University, Fullerton.
Contact the web administrator for comments and problems with the website.
California State University, Fullerton 2005. All Rights Reserved.